Skip to content.

Corneal transplantation is a procedure where an abnormal shape (such as keratoconus) or poorly functioning scarred or opaque cornea is replaced with a donor cornea. Traditionally, all three layers of the cornea are replaced with a corneal transplant. Newer techniques allow selective replacement of the affected layers. This allows the patient to keep their own functioning layers. The three types of cornea transplant are penetrating (where all layers of the cornea are replaced), anterior (where only the front layers are replaced) and posterior (where only the back layer is replaced).

News And Resources For Optometrists And Medical Practitioners